NEW SCHOLARSHIPS IN 2024-25

ENDOWED

The Jeanne Martin Dhavale Endowed Scholarship was created to provide support for an undergraduate majoring in elementary and early childhood education.

The Brian J. Dorsey Scholarship Fund will support Wilkes students who come from a disadvantaged background, particularly those who demonstrate financial need and are participating in the PA Act 101 program for students requiring additional academic support. The scholarship will also give preference to students who intend to receive a degree in Communications and/or Theatre Arts.

ANNUAL

The COBE (College of Business and Engineering) Advisory Board Scholarship in Business was established by advisory board members in 2024 to assist a student studying in the Business program. The scholarship is based on merit and financial need.

The COBE (College of Business and Engineering) Advisory Board Scholarship in Engineering was established by advisory board members in 2024 to assist a student studying in the Engineering program. The scholarship is based on merit and financial need.

The Jay and Bonnie McAndrew Nursing Scholarship is awarded to a worthy student pursuing a degree in Nursing, with preference given to a single parent.

FIRST YEAR AWARDED ENDOWMENTS

The Matthew R. Brown '08 Memorial Scholarship was created by Fredric and Lisa Brown in loving memory of their son, Matthew. A graduate of the inaugural class of entrepreneurship majors at Wilkes University in 2008, Matthew was heavily involved in student organizations on campus. His involvement in Student Government led to him becoming the president of the organization in his senior year. His gregarious personality was the perfect fit for working with the Office of Admissions, leading campus tours for prospective students and their families. Matthew's care and concern for others continued long after graduation, and he was an active supporter of community outreach projects throughout his life, exemplifying what it means to "Be Colonel".

The Chu-Wiendl Scholarship was endowed in 2024 by Gene Chu '89 in honor of Dr. Joseph A. Wiendl, whose generosity made possible Chu's education in the United States. The fund will provide for an annual scholarship to be given to a native citizen of China with a demonstrated desire to study abroad in the United States of America.

The Dr. John J. Pikulski III and Mrs. Edna "E.J." Pikulski Memorial Scholarship was formed in memory of the life and character of Dr. John Joseph "Jack" Pikulski '63 and his wife, Edna "E.J." Cooke Pikulski. Dr. Pikulski was a professor emeritus at the University of Delaware, a senior author and nationally recognized speaker for Houghton Mifflin Publishing and was a former President of the International Reading Association. In 1992 Jack was an honored recipient of the prestigious Eugene S. Farley

Memorial Alumni Award from Wilkes. The scholarship is awarded to a worthy student with academic ability and financial need.

The Virginia P. Sikes Memorial Scholarship was established by her husband, William, and memorializes the life and character of Virginia "Jennie" Sikes, who served as an esteemed member of the Wilkes University Board of Trustees from 2006-2017. Jennie was Phi Beta Kappa at the University of North Carolina and earned a Master of Arts in Education from UNC in 1971. She attended Columbia Law School, where she was a Stone Scholar, editor-in-chief of The Journal of Law and Social Problems, and winner of the E.B. Convers prize for the best original essay on a legal subject. After law school, she clerked for Judge Max Rosenn, US Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit. Jennie's career took her to the Philadelphia law firm of Montgomery, McCracken, Walker & Rhoads, where she became the first woman ever to be named managing partner of the firm. The scholarship is awarded to a worthy student who has demonstrated academic excellence in English along with a love of language and has financial need.

The Lois and Merr Trumbore Scholarship was established by Merr Trumbore in loving memory of his wife, Lois. This scholarship is intended for a student studying physics, preferably a resident of Northeastern PA.