Wilkes University


Anna Donson Memorial Scholarship Application Open to Students of Carpatho-Rusyn Descent

The Anna Donson Memorial Scholarship, in its fifth year, will be once again offering a $1,000 scholarship. The committee consists of Dr. Paula Donson, Paul Lohin, Pamela Hemzik, Sarah Latanyshyn, Dr. Dolores Fidishun, Elizabeth Diles, Cathie McAdams and Sharon Jarrow.

The aim of the scholarship is to assist students who themselves are members of the Carpatho-Rusyn Society, or who would advance the Carpatho-Rusyn culture, language, or tenets of the Carpatho-Rusyn Society.  The purpose of this $1,000 scholarship is to recognize and provide financial assistance to an outstanding student enrolled in a higher education program (two- or four-year duration or graduate program) or any accredited institution that offers certified academic, professional, technical or vocational training. 

The scholarship wishes to encourage and highlight the excellent contributions that our Rusyn people are making to their communities and beyond.  The scholarship also intends to accelerate the advancement of our young Carpatho-Rusyn population, expanding the development of our Carpatho-Rusyn citizens, within their community and state through higher education, advanced learning, and professional academic or vocational work.  

The Anna Donson Memorial Scholarship application form and criteria are available online at the Carpatho-Rusyn Society website: www.c-rs.org   Go to HIGHLIGHTS on the home page, click on the 2021 Donson Scholarship button from The Anna Donson Memorial Scholarship, scroll to the bottom of the page and click on the application button to print the application form.

Applications are due no later than Wednesday, June 30, 2021.