Wilkes University


Wilkes University Professor Thomas Franko named “Distinguished Young Pharmacist” by The Pennsylvania Pharmacists Association

Thomas Franko, Pharm. D., an assistant professor in Wilkes University’s Nesbitt School of Pharmacy, was awarded the Pharmacists Mutual Insurance Companies Distinguished Young Pharmacist award. It was presented at the 2017 Pennsylvania Pharmacists Association Conference on Sept. 23. The annual  conference was held at Kalahari Resorts and Convention Center in Pocono Manor.

The award recognizes new pharmacists for their dedication to and participation in the Pennsylvania Pharmacists Association, commitment to the practice of pharmacy and involvement in community activities.

Franko is a 2011 graduate of Philadelphia College of Pharmacy.  He currently serves as the Pennsylvania Pharmacists Association’s membership committee chair and has also served on the naloxone sub-committee, helped develop the statewide accepted dispensing guidelines, and participates on the “Know Pain, No Gain” student contest committee that is held at the mid-year conference. Franko is the northeast director on the Pennsylvania Pharmacists Association board of directors and has provided continuing education programs for conference attendees on pain management and related issues.

Thomas Franko

Founded in 1878, the Pennsylvania Pharmacists Association is a professional membership organization of more than 2,300 pharmacists and pharmacy students across the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, representing almost all facets of pharmacy practice. As the leading voice of pharmacy in Pennsylvania, it promotes the profession through advocacy, education, and communication to enhance patient care and public health.

Pictured: Thomas Franko.