Wilkes University


Wilkes University Hosts Engineering Olympics Event

The team from Hamburg Area School District from Hamburg, Pa., beat out seven other high school teams from throughout northeast and eastern Pennsylvania to take top honors  in Wilkes University’s annual Engineering Olympics. The 2017 event was held on April 7 in the Arnaud C. Marts Sports and Conference Center. The winning team’s members will each receive a $1,000 scholarship annually for four years if they attend Wilkes University.

Hamburg Engineering Olympics

The winning team from Hamburg, pictured from left to right, 1st row: Hamburg student Daniel Baumert. 2nd row: William Hudson, dean of the College of Science and Engineering at Wilkes University; Hamburg students Lyndsey Carr; Trevor Fegley; Katrina Heckmen; Gurparit Saggi; Nora Barter; Holly Phillips; Veronica Crespo; Collin Stout; Adam Degler; Allison Smith, senior engineering student and chair of the Engineering Olympics; Gerald Weiss, Hamburg Area High School science teacher.

Schools competed in five hands-on activities in environmental, electrical and mechanical engineering fields. Teams from eight high schools competed, including high schools in Crestwood, Dunmore, Forest City, Hamburg, Nanticoke, Pittston Area, West Scranton and Wilkes-Barre Area. The events included construction and testing of catapults, 3D Lego construction, designing and building a water distribution system, and problems involving electrical circuits and logic puzzles. Participating schools did not know the challenges prior to arrival at the event.

Second place honors went to the team from Forest City Regional High School with third place going to the students from the Greater Nanticoke Area High School.

The Engineering Olympics aims to excite and inform high schools students about the engineering profession and give them an opportunity to apply their knowledge in real-world scenarios.

The event is sponsored by the University’s engineering departments, Student Government and the Wilkes chapter of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers.

Forest City
Second place winners from Forest City, left to right: 1st row: Forest City student Noah Yates. 2nd row, left to right: Forest City students Matthew Trotter; Erin Urban; Sarah McHale; Matthew Tighe; Ian Bailey; Christopher Karwan; Kevin Kelly; Sarah Hall; Crystal Carsello; Jeffrey Earle, science, technology, engineering and mathematics teacher at Forest City Regional High School.

Third place winners from Nanticoke, left to right, 1st row: Nanticoke students Kaitlyn Bigos; Emily Brzozowski; Evan Stecco; Devn Thomas. 2nd row: Greater Nanticoke Area High School physics teacher Anthony Fleury; Nanticoke students Jacob Vick, Kris Seiwell, Brandon Karavitch, Eric Jefferies, Kris Rynkiewicz, Tyler Zaremba.