Wilkes University


Wilkes University Honors Faculty and Staff With Teacher Recognition and Effectiveness Awards

TREC Award Winners Group PhotoThe award is given annually to recognize one cross-disciplinary team of teachers that demonstrates outstanding initiatives in the classroom to further the ideals of interdisciplinary learning. This year, three faculty were recognized for a project engaging students across three academic disciplines exploring the causes and treatment of kidney stones. The recipients are:
Thomas Hamill, associate professor of English, received the Innovative and Non-Traditional Teaching Award. The student-nominated award recognizes a teacher who successfully incorporates innovative or non-traditional strategies into at least one class. Teaching innovation includes effective small group, collaborative methods; advanced use of technology in the classroom; consistent student-centered, interactive classroom experience; engagement in outside-the-classroom learning experiences that enrich student mastery of concepts and theories; and engaging students in joint faculty-student research projects.
Jennifer Malinowski, associate professor and assistant dean in the Nesbitt School of Pharmacy, received the Alumni Mentoring Award. The alumni-nominated award recognizes a teacher who continues to mentor students post-graduation.
Abas Sabouni, assistant professor of electrical engineering,received the Outstanding New Faculty Award. The award recognizes one full-time, non-visiting faculty member in his or her second or third year of full-time teaching at Wilkes University who demonstrates excellence in teaching, advising, and service. The awardee is nominated by his or her department chair.
The Outstanding Advisor Award is a student-nominated award that recognizes one academic advisor from each college who demonstrates excellence in academic advising based on load, advising philosophy and testimony by advisees. This year’s recipients are:
  • Julie Olenak, assistant dean and associate professor, received the Outstanding Advisor Award for the Nesbitt School of Pharmacy.
  • Marianne Rexer, Robert S. Capin Professor of Accounting, received the Outstanding Advisor Award for the Sidhu School of Business.
  • William Terzaghi,professor of biology, received the Outstanding Advisor Award for the College of Science and Engineering.
  • Andrew Wilczak, assistant professor of sociology, received the Outstanding Advisor Award for the College of Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences.
  • Mary Beth Mullen, coordinator for advisement in University College, received the Outstanding Advisor Award for the University College.