Wilkes University


Maslow Foundation Salon Reading Series at Wilkes University Kicks Off Creative Writing Program Residency June 19-23

Wilkes University’s Maslow Foundation Salon Reading Series will be held nightly from Sun., June 19 through Thurs., June 23, 2016. The series, which kicks off the June residency for the University’s Graduate Creative Writing Program, features readings by faculty and alumni of the program. There will be programs with biographies available at the door, and books by the authors will be offered for sale each evening. The readings are free and open to the public.

The week is highlighted by a reading on Thursday, June 23, featuring three members of the program’s advisory board who have previously been finalists for the National Book Award. The finalists were Tim Seibles, for his collection of poetry entitled Fast Animal, William Heyen’s Shoah Train, and H.L. Hix’s Chromatic. Phil Brady, a creative writing faculty and advisory board member, as well as the executive director of Etruscan Press, a small literary press based in Wilkes-Barre, will also be reading from his work.

The Sunday reading will take place at the downtown Barnes & Noble Bookstore at Public Square, 7 S. Main St., Wilkes-Barre, and the subsequent readings will take place at the Dorothy Dickson Darte Center at Wilkes University, 84 W. South St., Wilkes-Barre.  A book sale is held each night in conjunction with the event. All readings start at 7 p.m.

Maslow Foundation Salon Reading Series

Sun., June 19
Barnes & Noble Bookstore

Readings will include poetry, creative nonfiction and fiction from faculty members and alumni Nancy McKinley, John Bowers, Christine Gelineau, Kaylie Jones, Barbara Taylor, J. Michael Lennon, Beverly Donofrio, Taylor Polites, and Robert Mooney.

Mon., June 20
Dorothy Dickson Darte Center

The evening will feature a private screening of the film Blind, written by John Buffalo Mailer and directed by and produced by Michael Mailer, with a panel discussion featuring filmmakers and screenwriters Michael Mailer, Robert May, Ken Vose, and Ross Klavan.

Tues., June 21
Dorothy Dickson Darte Center

Readings will include fiction, poetry, and creative nonfiction from faculty members and alumni Becky Bradway, Cecilia Galante, Dawn Leas, Lenore Hart, David Poyer, Jeff Talarigo, Rashidah Ismaili Abubakr, Sara Pritchard, and Laurie Jean Cannady.

Wed., June 22
Dorothy Dickson Darte Center

The evening will feature Playwrights Readers Ensemble performances, including the work of playwrights Bonnie Culver, Jean Klein, Juanita Rockwell, Gregory Fletcher, Robert Arthur, and Jan Quackenbush.

Thurs., June 23
Dorothy Dickson Darte Center

This evening features a special poetry reading from authors who have been National Book Award top five finalists for Etruscan Press. These include creative writing faculty member Phil Brady and creative writing advisory board members, William Heyen,  H.L. Hix, and Tim Seibles.