Wilkes University

Creative Writing Faculty

Bonnie Culver
Program Director and Co-Founder

Bonnie Culver is the co-founder and Director of the Wilkes University Low Residency Master of Arts and Master of Fine Arts in Creative Writing. She is also the On-Site Executive Director of the Mesa site and an Associate Professor of English.  Dr. Culver has assumed various roles in her twenty years at Wilkes: faculty member, college dean, and program director. She is a playwright, screenwriter, and hopeful novelist. More than 20 of her plays have been produced by community theatres, regional, university, and equity companies from NY to LA. In 2004, her play SNIPER won the New Jersey Arts Council Perry Award for Excellence in the Production of an Original Play. SNIPER completed an equity showcase at Center Stage, NYC and in 2006 SNIPER was included in the Richard and Betty Burdick National Play reading series at Florida Studio Theatres that “showcases the best in contemporary American theatre.” Other Culver plays that received equity productions were ACCIDENT, LIFELINES, and GROUP S.O.S. (male and female versions). The film version of SNIPER was a finalist in the Sundance Institute’s Film Development Program. Marlee Matlin’s production company Solo One optioned her fourth film RAINING RAINBOWS. In 2011, she was elected to the national Board of Trustees of the Association of Writers and Writing Programs. Currently, she is the AWP Board treasurer, the President of the James Jones Literary Society, a board member of Etruscan Press and the Norman Mailer Society, and a member of the Dramatists Guild.
Faculty Member by Genre
  • Ceclila Galante
  • Lenore Hart
  • Marlon James
  • Kaylie Jones
  • Nancy McKinkey
  • Robert Mooney
  • Taylor Polites
  • David Poyer
  • Sara Pritchard
  • Nina Solomon
  • Jeff Talarigo
  • Rashidah Ismaili Abubakr
  • Phil Brady
  • Christine Gelineau
Creative Nonfiction
  • John Bowers
  • Becky Bradway
  • Beverly Donofrio
  • J. Michael Lennon
  • Kevin Oderman
  • Susan Cartsonis
  • Ross Klavan
  • Michael Mailer
  • Robert May
  • Richard Uhlig
  • Ken Vose
  • Robert Arthur
  • Bonnie Culver
  • Greg Fletcher
  • Jean Klein
  • Jan Quackenbush
  • Juanita Rockwell