Dr. William B. Hudson joined Wilkes University in June 2015.  He has extensive experience in higher education and industry practice.  Prior to his appointment at Wilkes Dr. Hudson served as Dean of the College Engineering, Mathematics and Science and Professor of Electrical Engineering at University of Wisconsin-Platteville and as department chair of Electrical and Computer Engineering and Technology at Minnesota State University, Mankato.  Other academic roles include faculty member in the department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at Kansas State University and the Department of Engineering Technology at New Mexico State University.  He has served as an accreditation visitor and trainer.

Dr. Hudson has been involved multiple research initiatives.  His research has supported NASA instrumentation, inspection of bridges using tethered robots, determining reasonable human performance shooting reaction times of law enforcement officers, and design of fuel ethanol plants.  Patents have resulted from his research in the areas of bridge inspection and firearms response time.

Dr. Hudson focuses on life-long learning and community service supporting students as an advisor to numerous student groups including IEEE student chapters at both Minnesota State, Mankato and Kansas State, Circle K and PBL at University of Wisconsin- Platteville.  At all institutions he has been at Dr. Hudson has solicited student involvement with student advisory boards or focus groups.  Dr. Hudson has mentored many students through independent study projects and his sponsorship of Learning Communities.

Dr. Hudson’s formal educational training consists an applied science degree Biomedical Equipment Technology from the Community College of Denver, a bachelor’s degree in Chemistry from Metropolitan State College, Denver Colorado and Masters and Ph.D. degrees in Electrical/Computer Engineering from New Mexico State University, Las Cruces, New Mexico.  Dr. Hudson has received additional management and senior leadership training through the Sprint University of Excellence and American Management Association.