Wilkes University

Marlon James

Marlon James, Novelist

A Brief History of Seven Killings

2015 Man Booker Prize Winner
2015 American Book Award Winner

Marlon James was born in Kingston, Jamaica, in 1970. His third novel, A Brief History of Seven Killings won the Man Booker prize for fiction, was a National Book Critics Circle Award finalist, and won the American Book Award in fiction in 2015. His second novel, The Book of Night Women, completed as his Wilkes M.A. thesis, won the 2010 Dayton Literary Peace Prize, The Minnesota Book Award, and was a finalist for the 2010 National Books Critics Circle Award in fiction, and an NAACP Image Award. His first novel, John Crow's Devil (2005), was a finalist for the Los Angeles Times Book Prize and the Commonwealth Writers Prize, and was a New York Times Editor's Choice. James graduated from the University of the West Indies in 1991 with a degree in literature, and from Wilkes University in 2006 with a Master of Arts in Creative Writing. His short fiction has appeared in the anthologies Iron Balloons,  Kingston Noir, and Silent Voices, and his nonfiction has appeared in the anthology, New Orleans: What Can't Be Lost, The Caribbean Review of Books, The  New York Times, and Publisher's Weekly. He has taught at the Gotham Writers Workshop in New York City and was a judge for the PEN Beyond Margins Award and the 2010 Young Lions Award. Marlon James teaches literature and creative writing at Macalester College, St. Paul, Minnesota, as the first ever writer-in-residence.

Bonnie Culver, Marlon James

Click here to go back to faculty listing