Wilkes University

Kaylie Jones

Kaylie Jones Kaylie Jones
Novelist, Creative Nonfiction

Kaylie Jones is a novelist, creative nonfiction writer, and editor.  Her memoir, Lies My Mother Never Told Me, was released by Harper Collins in 2009. Her third novel, A Soldier's Daughter Never Cries (Bantam, 1990) was adapted as a Merchant Ivory Film in 1998. Celeste Ascending was published by Harper Collins in 2000 and her novel, Speak Now, was released by Akashic Books in 2003. Her novels have been translated into many languages including: French, Dutch, German, and Japanese. Kaylie taught fiction at The Writer's Voice from 1988 to 1996, before helping to create the M.F.A. Program in Writing of Long Island University's Southampton campus, now the SUNY Stony Brook Southampton College M.FA. Program in Writing, where she still teaches. Currently, she chairs the James Jones First Novel Fellowship, hosted at Wilkes University, which awards $10,000 annually to an unpublished first novel. Many of the winners have gone on to publish to critical acclaim. Kaylie is also the proud editor of the Long Island  Noir anthology, published by Akashic Books in spring, 2012. In November 2011, Kaylie was given an award by the National Coalition Against Censorship for her work in bringing to print an unexpurgated, uncensored edition of her father's classic novel, From Here to Eternity. Kaylie's newest and probably most important endeavor is the launch of her imprint, Kaylie Jones Books, under the aegis of Akashic Books. Kaylie's novel, The Anger Meridian, was published by Akashic Books in June, 2015. She holds an M.F.A. in creative writing from Columbia University and is a founding faculty member of the Maslow Family Graduate Program in Creative Writing at Wilkes University.

Faculty Videos

View More Creative Writing Videos