facebook twitter Blogger YouTube
Welcome to Wilkes University » Latest News Archives
Font Size: T T T

Latest News Archives

Dunmore Area, Easton Area and West Scranton High Schools Win Wilkes University's Engineering Olympics

Contact: Vicki Mayk

A team from Dunmore Area High School earned first-place honors, winning scholarships collectively totaling $40,000 for team members at Wilkes University’s Engineering Olympics. Easton Area High School placed second, and West Scranton High School placed third in the even held April 5 on the University’s Wilkes-Barre campus. Each member from the Dunmore team will receive a $1,000 annual scholarship for four years if they attend Wilkes.


Teams from nine high schools competed at the third annual event. The event is sponsored by the University’s Division of Engineering and the Wilkes chapter of IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers).


Students from each team competed in five hands-on engineering activities – one event in environmental engineering, one in electrical engineering and three in mechanical engineering. These included designing a gravity car and building a tower made with a limited amount of materials that is capable of withstanding the maximum wind load produced by a fan. The parachute drop tasks students with designing a parachute that takes the longest to reach the ground when dropped with an attached load. 


Participating students from Dunmore Area High School included: Griffin Gerchman, Ray Hillier, Evan Killeen, Matt Clark, John Speicher, John Rinaldi, Ally Walsh, Jess Smith, Jordan Sweeney, and Mike Kolcharno. The supervising teacher was Aimee Kern.


Participating students from Easton Area High School included: Connor Mellet, Tyler Behm, Henry Cochran, Mike McCallops, Emily Keskey, Rebecca Nathanson, Matt Senenek, Dylan Hughes, Ryan Amentler, and Jocob Alferi. The supervising teacher was Justin Kast.


Participating students from West Scranton High School included: Tyler Besecker, Vinny Arcieri, Cara Anzulewicz, Asialena Bonitz, Larissa Kane, Danielle Rutkowski, Kaela Palmiter, Sara Skontawski, and Kait Tokash. The supervising teacher was Scott Dustman.


This year’s corporate sponsors included NEPIRC, sponsoring two teams, InterMetro Industries, Quadrant, Lightspeed Technologies, Lehighton Electronics, and Fairchild Semiconductors. Sponsors pay for team t-shirts and help to coach their sponsored team.

Published On: 4/30/2013
  • |
  • Wilkes University |
  • 84 West South Street, Wilkes-Barre, PA 18766 |
  • 1-800-WILKES-U
  • |
  • Privacy Policy*