Wilkes University

Mobile NavigationMobile Search


On Behalf of Chris Jagoe - Building Security Message

Dear Campus Community Members,

The Department of Public Safety worked with Facilities Services and Hillman Security over the past year to examine access to academic buildings on campus.  While all our academic buildings have doors with electronic access, many other doors needed to be manually locked and unlocked on a daily basis.  Should there be a critical incident, it would not be possible to secure all doors in a timely manner.  With this in mind, we made the decision to modify the number of entry points for some academic buildings and convert a practical number of doors to electronic access control.  Doors that do not have electronic access will remain locked but may be used to exit the building.  Your University ID card will allow you to enter an academic building in the event of an emergency.   We ask that you only enter through doors that are currently part of the access control system. Entrance doors will be clearly marked with this logo:  

security building logo

The University needs to balance any changes to building access and security with the benefits of being an open and welcoming place to study, teach, research and collaborate.  Our electronic access control system allows us to program and modify the opening and closing of buildings (and some classrooms).  This system is more convenient and efficient than the manual lock system and helps to make the campus safer and more secure.   The University made a significant security investment to modify the number of electronic access points, repair or replace doors, and create signage to identify appropriate entrance points.  We will continue to study and gather feedback to determine if additional access points are necessary in academic buildings. 

A successful security program requires every member of the community to be diligent. Please be alert to your surroundings and report doors that are propped or in need of repair to 2FIX.

Chief Christopher J. Jagoe
Department of Public Safety